Network Engineering Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for network engineers. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I have access with level 1 privilege on a Cisco switch. But, I want to see all configurations and interfaces, while being able to modify nothing. I searched the internet for the proper level of privilege but found nothing. Can someone explain each level and say which level is appropriate for seeing everything but modify nothing?

share|improve this question
First hit in google for "cisco privilege level":… – Teun Vink Feb 6 '14 at 13:17
Did you tried to search "privilege levels"? Here's the first link from google search: Or you did found something and it is still not clear? – MarinTailor Feb 6 '14 at 13:20
yes, i read that before asking the question. I am still not clear. What does level 7,8,9,5,... have to offer? – Manheim Feb 6 '14 at 13:22
If I'm not mistaken, you can create custom privilege levels for different users. – MarinTailor Feb 6 '14 at 13:37
ok, so what level i must be to view everything on the switch bu not modify it? – Manheim Feb 6 '14 at 13:44
up vote 9 down vote accepted

There are 16 privilege levels. Usermode is level one. The highest is 15, sometimes referred to as privileged mode. There's also a level 0, which has even fewer options that usermode.

To get into level 15, where you can view configurations and modify them, type enable in usermode. Provided that you have the password, your prompt will change from > to #. You can then enter commands such as show running-config, show startup-config, debug, and configure terminal.

The other levels (2-14) are used for custom access. For instance, if I have a junior admin that I want to be able to have access to the command show run, but not config t, I can configure these specific rules to be associated with a particular level. Whatever level you are, you get access to everything in your level, plus all of the commands found with the lower levels.

For example:

username junioradmin privilege 2 password bingo

[This creates a login that when used will be placed in level 2 instead of the default level 1]

privilege exec level 2 show running-config

[This says to allow any level 2 user to have the ability to enter show run. But remember, they can also enter any command from a lower level, so all usermode commands are also included.]

line con 0
login local

[This will prompt for the username. It says to the device, "Use the local database for logging in."]

If you do this configuration, login, and then enter the show run command, it will work. Then enter show start; this will not work because show start is a level 15 command.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.