I noticed in the running config I don't see the
no synchronization command under the BGP section. Is this a default command so I won't see it unless I change it?
Hardware / software
In most modern versions of IOS (since 12.2(8)T - thanks @ytti) BGP synchronization is disabled by default (and shown in the running config as such, ie
no synchronization shows up in
show run when you turn on BGP). As to which IOS version they decided to make it a "hidden default", I'm not entirely too sure, but you should be able to do:
show running-config all
show running-config full
To get the router to show the entirety of the running config, including the defaults which are normally hidden. Look for
no synchronization in there.