When I study the TCP protocol life cycle,

There are 3 stages:

  • Establish Connection
  • Data Transmission
  • Connection Removal

TCP have 6 Flag types: SYN, ACK, PSH, FIN, RST, URG.

TCP has 4 Timer:

  • Retransmission Timer
  • Persistent Timer
  • Keepalive Timer
  • Time_Wait Timer

  1. Conventional TCP life cycle there are only SYN, ACK, FIN 3 flags take participation, right?

  2. In the 6 flogs, which of them use a timer, and what timer? I know SYN, FIN will use, ACK don't. how about PSH, RST, URG?

  • Did any answer help you? If so, you should accept the answer so that the question doesn't keep popping up forever, looking for an answer. Alternatively, you can post and accept your own answer. – Ron Maupin Dec 16 '20 at 23:11

PSH, RST, URG don't use timers - that wouldn't make sense.

See this Q&A for what PSH and URG do. RST kills the connection without FINalizing it.

  • Which timer will them use? – aircraft Mar 26 '20 at 16:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.